Monday, February 18, 2008

DiTerlizzi, Tony and Holly Black. The Spiderwick Chronicles

DiTerlizzi, Tony and Holly Black. The Spiderwick Chronicles. Simon & Schuster, 2003-2004
The field guide - 978-0-689-85936-6//0-68985936-8
The seeing stone 978-1-4169-5018-9//1-41695018-4
Lucinda's secret 978-1-4169-5019-6//1-4169-5019-2
The ironwood tree 978-14169-5020-2//1-4169-5020-6
The wrath of Mulgarath 978-0-689-85940-3//0-68958940-4
Jared, Simon, Mallory and their mom have to move into Aunt Lucy's (Lucinda) old, falling down house. Aunt Lucy lives in an old age home and everything thinks she is crazy. Soon after they move into the house the notice strange things going on. It is not long before they find a hidden library with a "Field Guide" describing the world of faeries, goblins, hobgoblins, dragons, griffins and more. They discover that one of the creatures, Mulgarath has a plan to take over the world with his dragons. There is a great climatic scene in a tower. This Five-book series is written for elementary students (each book is a little over 100 pages) but I am sure they will be of interest to middle schoolers .. especially with the movie just being released. They are an easy read (I read each in a night and I am not a fast reader) and wonderfully illustrated. And most important (at least to me), it is a complete series at five books - not an never-ending one. I would be nice if they would bind them all into one book to appeal more to a middle school audience.